Ride that train


At a certain point, all the recovery rides start to fell kind of… similar. We meet at the same place every week (barring unforeseen cop towing threat incidents), at the same time, and follow the same route. That’s not to say that it isn’t a nice ride – it’s actually quite pretty and serves the “spin out” purpose well – it just doesn’t always provide a lot of fodder for blogging. And that’s saying a lot from someone who regularly spits out 900+ words for a 30 mile ride. If I’m not particularly injured or tired… if no one gets a flat or falls… or if no cars or wannabe race team try to kill me with their unexpected noise level or proximity… well, I’m pretty much at a loss.

The recovery loop after Coach George’s ride pretty much fits into that category. I still couldn’t really breathe, but that hardly falls under the “cool stories to report” header. The weather wasn’t particularly hot, and our group was relatively small. Approximately nothing of interest happened all the way up through Arastradero preserve and up the little climb before Alpine (unless you count a super-fail dropped chain in the middle of a major road while trying to make a left-hand turn).

And then we hit Alpine. Per usual, the strongest of our group (Coach Ron today) lead out the train down one of the fastest pieces of pavement I’ve ever ridden (at least in that direction). Coach Don tucked in behind him and I decided (despite my oxygen deficient condition) to grab his wheel. The rest fell in after me, and with a short ramp up period, we were off! Now I can remember a time when I was afraid to hop on Ron’s train. He’s fast as hell and I never wanted to be the person to kill the pace — plus my pacelining skills were shaky at best. Lately I’ve been able to hop on Don’s wheel early and keep up pretty well, so this week I decided to go for it.

Man did we fly! I made myself as small as possible, hit the drops and put the hammer down. There were a couple points that I had to really punch it up to keep in the slipstream… but I hung on that train all the way to the end! I’m sure there are a couple of you that will look at the stats and just sniff (darn gearheads!), but I was darn proud of hitting a 30+ mph pace on that road. I’ve definitely never gotten near 35mph without putting in a heckofalotta climbing beforehand (and definitely not while riding 6-8″ off someone’s rear wheel). Woohoo!

The rest of the loop pretty much sticks to standard playbook. I chatted in between gasping for breath and just generally enjoyed the company. Everyone made it back to the parking lot without incident and circled up at our normal spot for breakfast. In good news, with that extra little bit of quick ride work done, I definitely felt like I’d earned those pancakes!

719 Recovery Loop

0 Responses to “Ride that train”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What do we have here?

An often sarcastic, occasionally humorous journal of my training adventures in preparation for the Livestrong century ride. I took up cycling back in '07 in hopes of meeting new people, and, with the help of Team in Training, making my small positive difference in the world -- and haven't stopped spinning since. Follow along as my Trek road bike and I try and hash out our differences, hopefully with me upright and in the saddle.

Blog Archive

Categories

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

My Photos on Flickr


