Off-Road Productivity


No, I’m not taking up mountain biking. (Seriously, not a chance – I can barely stay upright on roads!) But, between putting in extra hours for work (the next launch is coming up!) and jetting off for a 3.5 day Vegas getaway, I just could not find the time to ride last week. Which means I had to get my cycling workout another way… or at least my wallet did. That’s right folks, a new season signup is the ultimate reason (aka excuse) for my favorite biking activity: shopping! Well, second to nice day riding with no *major* climbs, but shopping is up there.

And if you’re gonna do something, best to go big… right? True to my signature OCD-gone-cyclist-style, I’ve thrown myself behind a hefty bit of research, employing exhaustive amounts of interweb digging, magazine reading, and in-person touching. Surprisingly, there have been a lot of new developments in the “almost a year” since I was last stalking pretty gear on a regular basis. Luna makes wearable chick gear now? And so does Mavic? Gu and about 10 other sports food companies all launched fruit chews?! There’s so much to catch up on! Two weeks before season start, and I’m in for four new jerseys (which I can’t even wear to TNT rides), two pair of shorts (one’s going back!), and about $100 in food samples… and I’m still going strong. Guess it’s about time to start hoping my fundraising goes well this season, or I’m gonna get poor quick!! Speaking of, my fundraising site is up and running again… check me out and hook me up!

Even with all that spending already done, the biggest purchase is still yet-to-come. What could *possibly* be left, you ask? No, not a new color Garmin (although I confess to at least considering it). No $300 sport optics glasses, and definitely not another overpriced helmet. Any guesses yet?! Hint: It has two wheels… Got it now? A bike! A bike! A bike! *boingboingboing* That’s right! With my signup form officially processed, fundraising site up, and 5 participants already under my mentor wing, I’m definitely on the hook for the season – which means I can finally bully Charles into keeping his “no falls=new frame” bargain from over a year ago. Nothing is purchased yet… but yet is definitely the operative word. I’ve been doing a TON of research to narrow what I want (and to balance that against what I can afford), and think I’ve finally narrowed it down to:

  1. Trek Madone 5.2 WSD newstyle
  2. Specialized Ruby Pro newstyle
  3. Orbea Diva oldstyle

 

I’ve lusted after the Diva for a couple years now… but cannot possibly afford it new. So, unless I find a “never ridden, not pink, but sold at super low used price” option – she’s out for this year. Just can’t take the chance of dropping $3.5k on something used and having it show up cracked!! Between the other two, I’m super torn. I ride a Trek now (and she’s only *mostly* evil), but the Specialized is pretty hawtness and gets good reviews. I’ve debated for a couple weeks now, and have finally come to the conclusion that this cannot be solved with internet research; test rides are in order! With a little luck, I should be able to fit them in this weekend (bike stores are totally having Memorial Day sales… right?!), so more to come soon!

0 Responses to “Off-Road Productivity”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What do we have here?

An often sarcastic, occasionally humorous journal of my training adventures in preparation for the Livestrong century ride. I took up cycling back in '07 in hopes of meeting new people, and, with the help of Team in Training, making my small positive difference in the world -- and haven't stopped spinning since. Follow along as my Trek road bike and I try and hash out our differences, hopefully with me upright and in the saddle.

Blog Archive

Categories

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

My Photos on Flickr


