Seriously, I DO Still Ride


Well… in the loosest sense of the word. I know what you’re thinking. I made this whole post about getting my bike back six freakin’ months ago and haven’t posted a dang thing since! What gives? Truth be told, I have done a couple rides (yes, a couple is still accurate despite the 6-month long time frame), I’ve just been waaaaaay too lazy/busy to post them. And I don’t even have a super good reason. No accidents, tragedies, relocations or weddings to plan. Well… that’s kind of a lie – I was wedding plan up through August. But for the other 5 months, I’ve got nothing.

Mostly, I blame the new job. On top of actually being busy (which means lengthy rambling posts from the cubicle are out), I commute to San Francisco 5 days a week, making anything other than weekend rides are not feasible. Then during the week I can’t find the time to write about the few times I get out. Technically, the commute time on Caltrain would be an excellent window, but I’ve discovered (the hard way) that blogging from an iPhone sucks. Coincidentally, I’ll be taking donations for the “Jamie Needs a MacBook Air Fund” starting next week. Anyway, this my lengthy way of telling you (all 10 of you) that I’m sorry! I hate it when blogs just seem to go dead… but I promise, I’m still around. Just somewhat sporadically.

To bring you up to speed, I can sum up the two (yes… couple = two… I know, sad…) rides I have done pretty quickly. I did the famous “Recovery Ride Loop” both times, and it was mostly uneventful. It is really freakin’ nice to know that I can pull a 23-miler out of my tail (literally) even after a several month hiatus. Granted, I rode it slower than I’d like to – but just knowing that I could, any given weekend, ride a quarter-century is pretty darn cool. I still remember when 12 miles was impossible.

The only vaguely interesting note for these two rides is probably the ex-title for this post (back when it would have been a day after the ride): Under Pressure. Somewhere around 150 feet into the first, only, and super tiny climb, I realize that I am dying. I’ve ridden this loop a dozen times or so, but for some reason, I am sweating, huffing and puffing like never before! I’m beating myself up over it in my head (which *always* helps you climb better), berating myself for getting so out of shape, when some guy rides up behind me… well – passes me like I’m standing still really …and yells “Hey! You should really put some air in those tires!!”


DOH! I’ve got no frame pump on me and my riding buddies cleared this not-a-hill awhile ago. MAN, how quickly do we forget our training?! I manage to get up the hill and back down without incident (unless you count previously noted huffing and puffing) and borrow Mike’s pump. For the record, road bike tires were not meant to be ridden at thirty freaking pounds of pressure!! We managed to get them back up to a slightly more respectable 80 before finishing the last 5-ish miles. Of course, I was completely wiped by that point… but hey, another lesson (re)learned!

Beyond my failure to remember my bike pump, the rides were good. Great weather (gotta love NorCal for something!) and good friends. If I think of it, I’ll hunt down the Garmin data and throw it up here – I’m sure a couple of you would get a good laugh out of it!

So… what now? Well, that’s a good question. I’m seriously considering another TNT season this year (now that all the moving/job changing/wedding craziness is over), but I’m not sure which season will work for me. In the meantime, I’ve got a couple neighborhood rides planned with the other half (better put that full-carbon frame to work… on the flattest trail known to man), and I’m pretty sure that I’ll hit up Strawberry Fields for the metric century in May. Leave a comment if you have any other suggestions! I’m easing back into this game, but the more ideas you throw out, the more I’ll have to post about!

5 Responses to “Seriously, I DO Still Ride”


  1. 1 Bob January 26, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    Love the story. You’re an awesome writer!

    Bob
    http://totalcyclingperformance.com/blog/

  2. 2 Progressive cycle coaching services February 3, 2009 at 5:24 am

    Awesome story !!! i just loved it.

    progressive cycle coaching

  3. 3 Century Trainer February 11, 2009 at 10:22 am

    motivation can be a hard thing to master. i too suffer from the too many excuses to ride syndrome.

    the best cure i have found is to enter a century ride so that i have a definitive goal to aim for in the future that will force me to overcome my reasons for not riding.

  4. 4 Philip March 20, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    Great blog….a really interesting read

  5. 5 rinandy April 8, 2009 at 9:11 am

    Cool blog! I just stumbled on it and now I’m a dedicated reader. If you have free time you might want to check out sports shops.


Leave a Reply

What do we have here?

An often sarcastic, occasionally humorous journal of my training adventures in preparation for the Livestrong century ride. I took up cycling back in '07 in hopes of meeting new people, and, with the help of Team in Training, making my small positive difference in the world -- and haven't stopped spinning since. Follow along as my Trek road bike and I try and hash out our differences, hopefully with me upright and in the saddle.

Blog Archive

Categories

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

My Photos on Flickr


