What Degree do you Get…


for hill repeats graduation? And is it something that’s worth putting on my resume?

Jamie Coleman, MBA, HRG (Hill Repeats Graduate).

I kinda like it. Back on 12/23, just two days before Christmas, I joined Coach Don and maybe 5 other people for the hill repeats graduation ride. (I was surprised we had that many, given how close it was to Christmas!) Rather than take the trips up and down Mt. Eden, our Graduation Ride headed the other direction down Foothill, back through some very nice neighborhoods. The ride was short, sweet, and a lot of fun. I got to chat with people that I don’t normally see (about half of the riders weren’t on this season’s team), and it was another beautifully sunny day.

The one long-ish climb on the route wasn’t too bad, although I was vaguely nauseous from not eating anything all morning (yay me!). The view from the top was great though; a hill that I hadn’t been up before. Everything was pretty much downhill from there on. A few riders took an alternate route back to add in one more hill, but I stuck to my psuedo-accurate route sheet and headed back up Foothill with two other gals from the group. We had a bit of a scare on the way home. A driver merging onto the road completely ignored signals and right-of-way and nearly plowed into one of the riders in our group. We know the driver saw us…its like she looked right at her and then decided to keep going anyway, despite much screaming and waving. Thankfully no one was hurt, but that’s two rides this year where I’ve had/seen close calls with cars (not counting the accident of course). People really need to get out of their tunnel vision!

Everyone arrived back at the parking lot safe (if not slightly shaken), and headed out for our last formal Chipotle run of the season. I can hardly believe we are far enough along in training to be officially done with repeats…let’s just hope we still get some Mexican food regularly!

Motion Based ride data

0 Responses to “What Degree do you Get…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What do we have here?

An often sarcastic, occasionally humorous journal of my training adventures in preparation for the Livestrong century ride. I took up cycling back in '07 in hopes of meeting new people, and, with the help of Team in Training, making my small positive difference in the world -- and haven't stopped spinning since. Follow along as my Trek road bike and I try and hash out our differences, hopefully with me upright and in the saddle.

Blog Archive

Categories

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

My Photos on Flickr


