Just Pay the Ten Bucks


Word to the wise: If ever you rip a hole in your tire and are thereby forced to buy new (possibly blue) tires, pay the ten dollars (per tire) to have the store put them on for you! I drove to Performance after last week’s ride and dropped ~$60 on new spare tubes and new tires. They are, in fact, blue as this was the only color on which Performance was having a sale (and the price difference was substantial). Yes, I realize that this does not really match with my silver/purple/black bike – despite blue and purple being vaguely related on the color wheel – but at $12 per tire, I was willing to suck it up. I did, however, balk at the $10 per tire installation charge. Hey, if I can change a tire, I can install new tires…right? Riiiiiiight.

I got the old tires off relatively easily. I even managed to get one side of the new tire on and the tubes in place without much effort. Then began the process of cursing as I bruised my thumbs and got tire grease/chain dirt everywhere in my house while trying to get the bead of the tire into the rim. Seriously, my fingers were purple by the time I was done. It took approximately 90 minutes and one Charles intervention (who moved the bead one inch and thought he’d worked a miracle. I then made him “try harder” until the second tire was actually completed. Yes, I’m mean.) to get both tires ride ready. And did I mention the bruising? Anyway, my tires are installed, my bike looks goofily unmatched, and my fingers hurt…but I learned my lesson. Sometimes it is worth it to pay the extra $10. Duly noted.

0 Responses to “Just Pay the Ten Bucks”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What do we have here?

An often sarcastic, occasionally humorous journal of my training adventures in preparation for the Livestrong century ride. I took up cycling back in '07 in hopes of meeting new people, and, with the help of Team in Training, making my small positive difference in the world -- and haven't stopped spinning since. Follow along as my Trek road bike and I try and hash out our differences, hopefully with me upright and in the saddle.

Blog Archive

Categories

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

My Photos on Flickr


