A Fit and a Crank


As promised in the last post, I took the devil bike in for her…800 millionth…servicing this past week. The always helpful folks at Palo Alto Bikes set me up with an appointment for a fitting on Wednesday, and promised to check the chain issue while I was there. I showed up late that afternoon with cycling shorts and shoes in hand (for the best fit possible, you understand) and got to spinning on trainer – complete with audience. After a few rounds of measurements and adjustments, the seat should now be placed in the “ideal position.” Time (and tail) will tell on that front. We opted to leave the front end of the bike as is for now. My grip is constantly changing as the arm strengthens, so I wasn’t sure it made sense to make any major updates. Once the arm is 100%, I’ll reevaluate.

The chain issue was a bit more of a pain. One of their technicians looked at it for a few minutes, took the bike for a spin around the parking lot, looked some more …and finally decided the problem couldn’t be addressed right then and there. I was planning to come back into the area Thursday and/or Friday, so I decided to just pick her up later in the week. Besides, it was supposed to rain anyway. I got a call later that afternoon stating that the crank needed to be replaced and the techs had ordered the part. Apparently the piece that was on the bike was ever so slightly the wrong size, so they tried a spacer (which didn’t work) and ended up just ordering a new one. I got the bike back Friday afternoon, and everything appears to be in good working order. Hopefully the weather will clear up for the weekend and I can get some test rides in!

And with that, you are completely up to date on the Cycling-World-o-Jamie. I went to bed last night with a really sore throat and woke up feeling like it had actually swollen shut. Yay fun. So I skipped the optional ride this morning, drank green tea with honey all day (literally) and am hoping to be in decent shape for tomorrow’s 32 miler. **Cross your fingers!!**

0 Responses to “A Fit and a Crank”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What do we have here?

An often sarcastic, occasionally humorous journal of my training adventures in preparation for the Livestrong century ride. I took up cycling back in '07 in hopes of meeting new people, and, with the help of Team in Training, making my small positive difference in the world -- and haven't stopped spinning since. Follow along as my Trek road bike and I try and hash out our differences, hopefully with me upright and in the saddle.

Blog Archive

Categories

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

My Photos on Flickr


