It’s Official!


Charles and my TNT registrations for Solvang have been processed. Yes, I have indeed convinced another participant …victim?… to sign up. Winter season training, here we come! (Is it too early for a “GO TEAM!”? I think so…) Note, I am NOT yet cleared to ride – heck I still can’t straighten my arm all the way – but registration fees were getting ready to go up so I decided to chance it. In theory, my doctors will clear me to ride sometime in November, which, at most, probably has me missing the first 2-3 rides. I’m hoping for none, but given my progress to date, I’m not holding my breath.

As mentioned, my arm still doesn’t extend all the way. Last measurement of my arm trying to straighten was -12 degrees (or 168 if you prefer), which is close to flat…but not quite. Flexing is easier; I can pull my arm all the way to my chest consistently. Woot! I can also pretty regularly lift my arm over my head, indicating that I’m getting some mobility back in the shoulder, but raising it out to the side makes me want to cry. One handed hair washing continues, unfortunately, to be the norm – but I have managed to wrangle my arm up enough to put up my own ponytail. Hooray!.

I’m still rocking the physical therapy thing once a week, and will probably start strength training this Thursday. In the meantime I’ve got a long list of exercises/stretches on a variety of nifty gear (aka a stick, a pulley, and a foam pool noodle) that I struggle to fit all of into each day. Seriously, 10-20 reps of a minimum of 9 different exercises takes a freakin’ long time. Especially when you have to “hold for 10-12” at the top of each stretch. Sigh.

Anyway, kickoff for winter season is 10/27, and my next doctor’s appointment is 11/5. Charles and I bought a trainer yesterday – hooray for Performance sales! We’re anticipating that I’ll being able to ride indoors (aka with little to no risk of falling and re-injuring myself) in the next couple weeks. Add that to the “impending” rainy season and the trainer seemed like a good buy. Weather won’t cause us to miss too much training dangit! We haven’t set it up yet, but I’m getting excited to get back in the saddle, even if only on a stationary basis. And the countdown continues…

0 Responses to “It’s Official!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What do we have here?

An often sarcastic, occasionally humorous journal of my training adventures in preparation for the Livestrong century ride. I took up cycling back in '07 in hopes of meeting new people, and, with the help of Team in Training, making my small positive difference in the world -- and haven't stopped spinning since. Follow along as my Trek road bike and I try and hash out our differences, hopefully with me upright and in the saddle.

Blog Archive

Categories

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

My Photos on Flickr


