A Newly Naked Arm


I guess you could say my doctor’s appointment on Monday went well. After a couple of x-rays, I met with my surgeon to begin the “bend the broken arm in as many painful direction as possible” game. It appears that my shoulder is not healing as fast as he would like – no connecting bone growth detected on the x-rays – but my forearm break looks good. Unless you count the flexibility tests.

Shockingly, after 7 weeks of my arm in a sling basically 24-7, interrupted only occasionally by the aforementioned Crappily-Modified Bicep Curl exercise, the range of motion in my arm and shoulder is, at best, severely limited. I wasn’t surprised by this little bit of information from my surgeon, especially when he jacked up my arm and I nearly passed out cold! I was a bit disappointed that he seemed underwhelmed by my bicep curling progress to date, but given my overly-lightheaded reaction to shoulder movement…I guess I can’t blame him.

The doc did declare both my sling and ace wrap off limits, and I walked out of his office with a naked arm for the first time in nearly 2 full months. Woohoo! I celebrated by going home and taking a trashbag-less shower. Ahhhhhhh, so nice. This was closely followed by several email experiments to discover precisely how much two handed typing I could manage with my limited flexibility (for the record – not that much, and my accuracy is shite). Now comes the fun task of alternately soaking and lotion-ing my arm to try and get all the icky scabs and dead skin off before overly grossing out too many innocent bystanders. Ewww. Don’t look too close! Seriously!!!

I also had a directive to start physical ASAP, which translated into first thing Tuesday morning. More on that in the next post. My shoulder is whimpering (or I’m whimpering for it…whichever), so I’ll keep this post short. Oh, but if you are wondering – very late October to November is the early “back in the saddle” signoff target. *Starts the countdown*

0 Responses to “A Newly Naked Arm”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What do we have here?

An often sarcastic, occasionally humorous journal of my training adventures in preparation for the Livestrong century ride. I took up cycling back in '07 in hopes of meeting new people, and, with the help of Team in Training, making my small positive difference in the world -- and haven't stopped spinning since. Follow along as my Trek road bike and I try and hash out our differences, hopefully with me upright and in the saddle.

Blog Archive

Categories

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

My Photos on Flickr


