What have they Been Feeding You?


Two in one day – I’ll bet you can hardly contain your excitement! With a number of people having complained about my “overly long” posts, I decided to pull this week’s food reviews out into a separate entry. I haven’t put these up in while, so there’s a good bit to catch up on. As usual, some good, some not so good – and at least one that rank down near terrible. Enjoy!

Brand Flavor Rated (1-10) Notes
Food
Clif Shot Gel Mocha 6 Not a bad flavor overall. More chocolate than coffee, and I swear it had notes of raisin. And yes, I said “notes” like some kind of wine snob – deal. I’d definitely eat it again, especially given that it’s caffeinated.
Clif Shot Bloks Orange 7.5 If Lemon-Lime is solidified 7up, this blok is solid Orange Fanta. Assuming you like orange soda, this makes for a tasty option overall (not to mention the added benefit of being one of only 2 blok flavors that comes with caffeine).
Powerbar Gel Strawberry Banana 4 Too sweet, too pasty, too…something. I’m not a typically a huge fan of banana flavored candy/sweets so I wasn’t too shocked that this one didn’t do it for me.
Drinks
Vitamin Water Revive (Fruit Punch) 8 I love me some Vitaminwaters, even though I’m not sure they really count here. Meh, it’s my blog, I’ll include ’em if I want to! This flavor was new to me and pretty darn tasty; basically a watered down fruit punch. B vitamins and potassium.
Vitamin Water Power C (Dragonfruit) 7 Don’t know what a dragonfruit is, but bottled into water form – it’s good. Vitamin C + taurine (again – whatever the heck that is).

I really need to get some new drink packets that I’m will to try. I have a couple GU20 orange packets sitting a drawer that I’ve been hesitant to use since my rejection of the raspberry one on our first ride. Anyone have any favorites not listed that I should pick up? Expect quite a few new gel reviews after Saturday – I already bought a bunch to take!

0 Responses to “What have they Been Feeding You?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What do we have here?

An often sarcastic, occasionally humorous journal of my training adventures in preparation for the Livestrong century ride. I took up cycling back in '07 in hopes of meeting new people, and, with the help of Team in Training, making my small positive difference in the world -- and haven't stopped spinning since. Follow along as my Trek road bike and I try and hash out our differences, hopefully with me upright and in the saddle.

Blog Archive

Categories

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

My Photos on Flickr


