Wooden Bridges are the Devil


Realistically, I’ll likely name multiple things as the devil over the course of this summer’s training – but as of Wednesday’s ride, wooden bridges take the cake. I crossed at minimum of three wooden bridges each way last night, and it could not have been less fun! I understand road bikes are built for speed and all, but by bridge three, I would have killed for some shocks. How am I supposed to “navigate obstacles” when my hands have gone numb from vibration?! Moving on…

Hill repeats were cancelled this week due to lack of interest, heat and the holiday. I was actually a bit bummed, as I’ll be traveling in Mexico during next week’s repeats – but not bummed enough to take on Mt. Eden solo. (Have I mentioned my general lack of hardcore self-motivation?) Still, I didn’t want the day to be a total loss, and decided to do the same Creek Trail circuit I’d done the day before. I don’t know if it was the heat or if I’m really just that out of shape (or some combination thereof), but I was just not feeling well yesterday. Overall, there isn’t much to tell about the ride – less people, more geese, same skunk (no lie – he was right in the middle of the path). I went the exact same route, and finished in almost the exact same time…it just felt like it hurt more. In my defense, it was a hell of a lot hotter! At least I’m performing, at a minimum, consistently.

In other news, I finally broke down and bought the Terry Butterfly saddle. I’m still not sold that it is the “be all, end all” of cycling seating, but I have decided that it’s a vast improvement over the stock seat that came with my bike. Besides, Performance had it on sale – down to $79.99 from $120ish everywhere else. Plus, thanks to a deluge of emails from said bike shop, I managed to save another 10% during Performance’s 4th of July extravaganza! (Actually, they may not have used the term “extravaganza”, but I really like how it sounds.) The way I figure it, the $50ish dollars I saved on the saddle can now be applied to the “Jamie wants a Garmin Fund”. Unless you count the …additional items… I was forced to pick up at the sale. In which case I’ve probably still got at least four dollars towards my new gadget. Sigh. Why oh why did no one warn me of the dreaded cycling-induced shopping addiction?

Speaking of warnings, someone probably should have mentioned the fantastic tan lines that apparently come part and parcel with biking. I could lay out at a pool for eight hours a day for 3 days straight and, at best, get some minimal burns. Yet somehow, cycling for 1 or 2 hours a day for 4-5 weeks netted me an extended awesomely white midsection – which I discovered yesterday when I took up the already excruciating task of bathing suit shopping. Not sure I can blame that on trick store mirrors. 🙂 Hopefully I can manage to even out a bit on vacation next week. Although, given the ratio of time I’ll be spending this summer in cycling clothes versus that in a swimsuit…maybe it doesn’t matter.

OK, it’s hot as hell in here, I’m going to bed. Stupid no AC! Hopefully I’ll get up some new food reviews tomorrow – but there’s a lot of vacation prep to be done. Either way, see ya Saturday!

Distance: 14.01mi

Time: 1:01:00

Avg MPH: 14.0

Max MPH: 21.8

0 Responses to “Wooden Bridges are the Devil”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What do we have here?

An often sarcastic, occasionally humorous journal of my training adventures in preparation for the Livestrong century ride. I took up cycling back in '07 in hopes of meeting new people, and, with the help of Team in Training, making my small positive difference in the world -- and haven't stopped spinning since. Follow along as my Trek road bike and I try and hash out our differences, hopefully with me upright and in the saddle.

Blog Archive

Categories

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

My Photos on Flickr


